Texas Farmers Union’s 110th Convention

Waco, Texas (January 13, 2012) - Texas Farmers Union delegates and members will convene for the 110th State Convention at the Menger Hotel in San Antonio, Texas. The Convention will run January 27 and 28, 2012, and will start at 1:00 p.m. on Friday, the 27th.

Texas Farmers Union. President Wes Sims stated, “We will have a number of interesting speakers and programs. One of the speakers will be National Farmers Union President Roger Johnson, who will be speaking at the banquet on Saturday night.”

Friday afternoon will include a tour of San Antonio’s Missions. Friday evening’s reception will include entertainment by the 2011 “Rural American Idols” Jade Flores, Elijah Farr and Brenda Martin. Food will be in abundance.

Saturday’s speakers will include Dr. Darryl Birkenfeld, Ph.D., Executive Director Ogallala Commons; Leigh Slayden, Membership Director for National Farmers Union; Alan Shane Floyd, co-producer and director of “The Unifying Force of Shared Sacrifice;” David Van Os, former Democratic nominee for Texas Attorney General and Supreme Court Judge; Reverend Harwood Schaffer, Ph.D., University of Tennessee’s Agriculture Policy Analysis Center; and Steve Maikell, former School Superintendent and member of Texas Association, of School Administrators. Policy drafting will start at 3:00 p.m. Saturday afternoon with emphasis on the Farm Bill, Texas Education and Health Care.

We will culminate the Convention with a Progressive Auction. Please begin to visit your local farm equipment dealers, co-ops, feed and seed dealers, or other local businesses to solicit items to bring for the Auction. The businesses will have their name announced when their items are auctioned. All proceeds will go to the Farmers Union Charitable Fund.

Texas Farmers Union, P.O. Box 738, Sweetwater, Tx 79556